Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8 Page 9 Page 10 Page 11 Page 12
Table of Contents

It is time for my regular update and appeal to all members and well wishers! I hope you are none the worse for shoveling all that snow. I guess we would all trade January 2nd for a rainy day in Guyana.

I am pleased to tell you that your executive has not been resting on its laurels. Thanks to a number of industrious members, we staged a memorable Appreciation Ceremony on Sunday, January 17th and honoured some friends of QC who have helped us along the way, lightening our burden and making the work we do the success it has been over the years. I wish to repeat what I said at the function. The good folk, whom we chose to honour, were outstanding in all that they have done to support us. However, I would be remiss not to observe, that there are many more members and friends who are consistent in their efforts to promote our objectives, and no less worthy of our gratitude.

We used the occasion of the appreciation ceremony to launch the bursary and all members in good standing (read financial) should find out more about the terms and conditions in order to avail themselves of the benefit. Our children must be encouraged to carry the torch and be worthy scions of QC.

I would like to take this opportunity to remind you that there is still considerable rebuilding to be done. I would like to express, once again, our sincere gratitude for the generous contributions and support we have received so far. However, the task at hand requires us to redouble our fund raising efforts. I am appealing for some more of the generosity already shown. Your support is essential. I am encouraging you all to participate in the ABC Plan or you may make donations directly to the Fire Fund. From those to whom much is given, much is expected!

1998 / 1999 Executive
President Gerald Alleyne
Vice President, Membership & Communications Leyland Muss
Vice President, Fundraising Eden Gajraj
Secretary Shamshun Dias
Treasurer Hemdat Sawh
Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Lionel Singh
Directors Kathryn Eytle; Conrad Griffith,
Arthur Henery; Aubrey Kennedy
Immediate Past President Krish Mahesh